Executive Director, Creative Affairs
The Dramatists Guild of America, New York
January 2007 - present

In January of 2007, I began a newly created position to help define and then satisfy the needs of this 6000-member national organization of playwrights, lyricists, librettists and composers. The Council of the Guild (its governing body) includes most of our country’s most notable dramatists: Edward Albee, Marsha Norman, David Ives, Tony Kushner, David Henry Hwang, Doug Wright, Tina Howe, Stephen Schwartz, Gretchen Cryer, Carol Hall, Theresa Rebeck and others.

Administration Committee
The Tony Awards
2009, 2010

Committee responsible for the rules and regulations that govern Broadway's Tony Awards, including performance eligibility and categorization.

Artistic Director, Associate Chair, Program Director, Faculty MemberGoldberg Department of Dramatic Writing
Tisch School of the Arts, New York University
1986 - present

Executive Administrator responsible for the development and operation of a professional training program dedicated to the instruction of playwriting and screenwriting which culminates in a BFA or MFA. Additionally, Artistic Director of The First Look Theatre Company – a professional acting and directing ensemble designed for specific workshops and showcases in the Department of Dramatic Writing. Additionally, Producer of all departmental productions: The Festival of New Works, The Marathon Festival of One-Act Plays, The Ten Minute Play Festival, The MFA/BFA Thesis Readings, The Goldberg Prize-Winning Play production.

Program Director and Instructor for The Summer Playwriting Intensive
The Kennedy Center
Washington, D.C.
2002 - present

A nationally recognized summer program offering advanced instruction in playwriting for aspiring playwrights selected from a talent pool throughout the country. Instruction along with Marsha Norman, Arthur Kopit, Steven Dietz, Lee Blessing, Melanie Marnich, Ken Ludwig, Naomi Izuka, David Ives, Heather McDonald, Christopher Shinn and others.

Founder and Creator
The Loop
2005 - present

On on-line playwriting community that distributes submission opportunities as well essays and articles on craft and career to several thousand playwrights.

Guest Artist Or Lecturer
Austin Scriptworks
Austin, Texas

Northern Kentucky University

Northwest Indiana Playwrights
Ft. Wayne, Indiana

Sewanee Writers Retreat
University of the South
2008, 2009, 2010

The University of Texas at Austin , MFA Thesis Projects
Spring 2004, 2010

Southeast Theatre Conference
2004, 2006, 2007, 2009, 2010

Mississippi Theatre Association

The Playwrights Forum
Washington, D.C.
2001, 2002, 2003, 2007, 2009

Playwrights Symposium
Rochester, New York

Baltimore Playwrights

The Last Frontier Theatre Conference
Valez, Alaska
2005, 2006, 2007

Master classes, public forums and small groups discussions on dramatic structure, writing and producing the 10-minute play, synopsis writing, self-promotion, marketing, self-producing and educational opportunities.

New play respondent
Kalamazoo College
January, 2007

Taught workshops for a small group of playwrights and publicly responded to student work in their annual ten-minute play festival.

Blaine Quarnstrom Playwright's Series
University of Southern Mississippi
February, 2007

Inaugural year for a playwright-in-residence program. Taught workshops, attended readings of student plays and met with the faculty to discuss ways of growing the program.

Guest Respondent; Contest Judge

University of Wyoming (Fall 2007) Texas Educational Theatre Association (2004) and Georgia Theatre Assocation (2004), and various regional festivals of the Kennedy Center’s American College Theatre Festival.

Association for Theatre in Higher Education
Respondent to 10-Minute Play Festival
Summer National Conference
1997 - present

Arts & Letters Prize in Drama
Georgia College and State University

For national competition of annual short play contest.

Artistic Director And Founder
Playwrights PlayGround, New York City
2004 - present

A New York City production company whose sole purpose is to the promote the work of playwrights over the age of 40.

National Chair
National Playwriting Program
Kennedy Center American College Theatre Festival
2002 - 2005

National Vice-Chair
National Playwriting Program
Kennedy Center American College Theatre Festival
1999 -2002

Plan, innovate and implement playwriting programming for eight national regions as part an annual national theatre festival sponsored by the Kennedy Center.

Board of Advisors
Chicago Dramatists

Board of Advisors
The Playwrights Forum of D.C.

Source Theatre Festival
Washington, D.C., 2009

The Eugene O’Neill Summer Playwriting Institute, Summer, 2005

2003, 2002

Short-play festival of gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgendered playwrights for Off-Off Broadway’s Manhattan Theatre Source.

The Signature Series, Lamar University
2000 - 2003

The initial offering was forty-seven autographed plays gifted to the university in honor of a thriving educational theatre program. Arthur Miller, Tony Kushner, Marsha Norman, Wendy Wasserstein, John Guare, Pete Gurney, Paula Vogel, Lanford Wilson and Terrence McNally were among the original offering. Each year, I contribute an additional three autographed plays plus a reading copy for students.


Gary Garrison

Gary Garrison

Gary Garrison

gary garrison
i resume home reviews writing biography bookstore appearances contact etc.